Benjamin Harrison, U.S. President

Andy Jacob, Jr., U.S. congressman from Indiana

James Whitcomb Riley, renowned poet

Booth Tarkington, famous novelist

W. Rowland Allen, a co-founder of the Indianapolis Civil Liberties Union

Edward S. Ames, pastor and professor at the University of Chicago

Walter S. Athearn, past president of Butler University

Howard G. Baetzhold, renowned Mark Twain scholar

Conrad Baker, Indiana governor

Harry E. Barnard, director of the American Chemical Society

Allen R. Benton, first chancellor of the University of Nebraska and later president of Butler University

Albert J. Beverage, United States senator

James B. Black, judge on the Indiana Court of Appeals

William C. Bobbs, co-owner of the book publishers Bobbs-Merrill

Roger D. Branigin, governor of Indiana

Harold F. Brigham, member of the executive board of the American Library Association

Earnest Bross, editor-in-chief of the Indianapolis Star

Demarchus C. Brown, Indiana State Librarian

Hilton U. Brown, acclaimed journalist and president the board of trustees of Butler University

Henry A. Buchtel, governor of Colorado

Amos W. Butler, penal expert and father of Indiana ornithology

Scot Butler, president of Butler University

George H. Chapman, brigadier general for the Union during the Civil War

Larry A. Conrad, author of 25th amendment to U.S. Constitution

John Merle Coulter, president of Indiana University

Joseph J. Daniels, noted covered bridge builder

Wylie J. Daniels, secretary-treasurer of a railroad

Edgar G. Davis, vice-president of Eli Lilly

George L. Denny, mayor of Indianapolis

Jacob P. Dunn, drafter of new Charter of Indianapolis

Lehman H. Dunning, renowned surgeon and gynecologist

William A. Dyer, Jr., general manager and president of Indianapolis News and Indianapolis Star

John B. Elam, law partner of President Benjamin Harrison

Clarence F. Elbert, choral director

Byron K. Elliott, justice on the Indiana Supreme Court

Charles P. Emerson, dean of the Indiana University School of Medicine (after whom the medical school building is named)

Daniel F. Evans, CEO of Indiana University Health

Louis B. Ewbank, justice on the Indiana Supreme Court

Charles W. Fairbanks, Vice President of the United States

James W. Fesler, vice president of the Indiana University Board of Trustees

Morris M. Feuerlicht, rabbi

Elisha C. Field, judge and railroad vice president

William P. Fishback, law partner of Benjamin Harrison and the subject of a poem by "James Whitcomb Riley" that bears his name

Albert E. Fletcher, president of the Art Association of Indianapolis

William B. Fletcher, founder of private hospital for mental disorders

E. Gilbert Forbes, famous radio and television journalist

William Forsyth, artist

William Dudley Foulk, president of the American Women Suffrage Association

Cleon H. Foust, dean of the Indiana University School of Law

Thomas French, winner of Pulitzer Prize

Jonathan W. Gordon, speaker of the Indiana General Assembly

Walter Q. Gresham, both U.S. Secretary of State and U.S. Secretary of the Treasury

Theodore B. Griffith, president of L.S. Ayers

John L. Griffiths, Consul General of the United States to Great Britain

Hugh H. Hanna, owner and president of Atlas Engine Works and appointed chairman of a commission on the gold standard and foreign policy by President Theodore Roosevelt

William F. Harvey, dean of the Indiana School of Law

Thomas A. Hendricks, governor of Indiana and Vice President of the United States

William E. Henry, state librarian

Maynard K. Hine, president of the American Dental Association

Cyrus C. Hines, law partner of Benjamin Harrison

John H. Holliday, founder of the Indianapolis News

Floyd D. Hopper, famous watercolorist

Samuel H. Hopper, founder of the Masters of Public Health program at Indiana University

Thomas C. Howe, president of Butler University

Harry V. Huffman, vice president and general counsel of Citizens Gas & Coke Utility

Harry T. Ice, attorney after whom the prominent law firm Ice Miller is named

William H. Insley, founder of company that made heavy construction equipment

Burris A. Jenkins, sports cartoonist

Calvin N. Kendall, president of the Indiana State Teachers Association

John W. Kern, United States senator

William A. Ketcham, commander-in-chief of the Grand Army of the Republic (1920-21)

Donald F. Lafuze, president of the Indiana Bar Association

George T. Lukemeyer, executive associate dean and medical director of Indiana University Hospitals

Thomas R. Marshall, Vice President of the United States

Frederick E. Matson, founder of Ice Miller law firm

Samuel Merrill, head of the publishing company that became Bobbs-Merrill

Hugh Thomas Miller, lieutenant governor of Indiana

William H. H. Miller, attorney general of the United States

Merrill Moores, member of U.S. House of Representatives

DeWitt S. Morgan, superintendent of Indianapolis Public Schools

Meredith Nicholson, best-selling author

Stephen C. Noland, editor of the Indianapolis News

Theophilus Parvin, president of the American Medical Association

Wilbur D. Peat, director of what became the Indianapolis Museum of Art

Robert B.F. Pierce, member of U.S. House of Representatives

Albert G. Porter, governor and member of U.S. House of Representatives

James W. Putnam, president of Butler University

George H. Rawls, professor of surgery and author of <u>History of the Black Physician</u> in Indianapolis

Thomas M. Scanlon, president of Indiana Bar Association

Duncan Schiedt, renowned photographer of jazz players and author on jazz

John G. Shanklin, Indiana Secretary of State

James H. Smart, president of Purdue University

Delavan Smith, owner and publisher of the <u>Indianapolis News</u>

Alpheus H. Snow, lawyer and renowned authority on international law

Horace Speed, first U.S. district attorney for Oklahoma Territory

Theodore C. Steele, famous impressionist painter

Karl J. Stipher, president of the 7th Circuit Bar Association

William G. Sullivan, vice president of American States Insurance Company

Joseph T. Taylor, dean of liberal arts at Indiana University-Purdue University at Indianapolis

James Alexander Thom, bestselling author of historical fiction

Charles N. Thompson, Indiana state senator

Robert Van Sickle, professor of art at Indiana University

Guy A. Wainwright, president of Diamond Chain Company

Matthew E. Welsh, governor of Indiana

Clifton Wheeler, Impressionist painter

Charles R. Williams, reverend and president of Indiana Black Expo, Inc.

William N. Wishard, Jr., professor at Indiana University School of Medicine

William A. Woods, judge on the U.S. Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals

Evans Woollen, famed midwest architect who designed Clowes Hall and the Federal Building in Indianapolis